Admissions open: Online Application for the year 2021-2022


C.S.I. Jayaraj Annapackiam College is situated at Nallur, 1.5 kms east of Alangulam (Tenkasi District), amidst sylvan surroundings and calm atmosphere, far away from the madding crowd. It was established in the year 1997 and ready to celebrate its Silver Jubilee. The College is on the northern side of the celebrated West Tirunelveli Higher Secondary School, on a campus that sprawls on about 11 acres of land, owned by Church of South India, Tirunelveli Diocese.

The idea of establishing a College in this West Tirunelveli area was first conceived with far-sightedness by our former Bishop in Tirunelveli Rt. Rev. Jason S. Dharmaraj and it took a concrete shape when Mr. J. Chelladurai, eminent industrialist and philanthropist came forward with a liberal donation of Rs. 20 Lakhs which served as the precious seed money . This was followed by Mr. V.G.R. Simeon, a retired Chief Executive Engineer (now living in Bombay but hailing from Nallur) offering a generous donation of Rs. 10 Lakhs. Again, fortunately enough for us, the former Law Minister of Tamilnadu, Honble V. Aladi Aruna, a son of the soil, rendered us a great service by getting us the necessary permission from the Government to establish the college. In addition, his family gave us a large gift in the form of an Administrative Block. Thus CSI Jayaraj Annapackiam College was born. From December 1999, Rt. Rev. S. Jeyapaul David, B.A., B.D., Bishop in Tirunelveli was the Chairman of the College. Then, the Rt. Rev. Dr. J. J. Christdoss, M.A., B.D., M. Th., D.D. Bishop in Tirunelveli served as the Chairman. At present, CSI Bishop in Tirunelveli Diocese, Dr.D. Chandrasekaran M.A., B.D., M. Th., D.D, Moderator’s Commissary is the Chairman.

Rev. S. John David was the first Secretary and Correspondent of the College from 1997-2000. Mr. B. S. Rathinam succeeded him with effect from June 01, 2000. Mr. D.S. Jeyasingh became the Secretary and Correspondent with effect from 29.08.2003. Mr. J. I. Tom Samuel Thanaraj M.A., M.A., M.Ed., assumed service as Secretary and Correspondent from 1.6.2008 to 31.3.2012. Prof. S. John Gabriel M.A., was the Secretary and Correspondent from 17.04.2012 to 30.06.2013. Adv. Mr. S.P.D. Nelson, M.A., B.L., was the Secretary and Correspondent from July 1, 2013 to 31.05.2016. Then, our Bishop Rt. Rev. Dr. J.J. Christdoss, M.A., B.D., M. Th., D.D., took charge as Secretary and Correspondent of our College from 1st June 2016 to 31st May 2017. Advocate, S.P.D. Nelson, M.A., B.L., assumed charge on 1st June 2017 as Secretary and Correspondent. Followed by him, Engineer. Mr.T.T. Praveen, Dr. Y. John Nicholson IPS, Rtd. IG and Rev. ARGST. Barnabas adorned our college as Secretaries and Correspondents for the short period during 16.06.2020 to 15.06.2021. Now Mr. S. Jesu Jegan B.Sc., has assumed charge as Secretary and Correspondent with effect from 16.06.2021.

Dr. P. Iyadurai who was the first Principal laid a firm base for further development (1997-2001). He was succeeded by Dr. D. Jones Nelson who strengthened the base laid by Dr. P. Iyadurai (2001-2005). Major. Prof. T. J. T. Rajkumar took over from Dr. D. Jones Nelson as the third Principal of our College with effect from 01 June 2005 and served upto 30 June 2006. He was succeeded by Dr. D. Harrington Thomas, Ph.D., who took charge on 01.07.2006 and served the College for 7 years up to 30.06.2013. Dr. E. Diwakar Abraham Devadason, M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D., was the Principal from 01.07.2013 to 09.06.2016. On 10th June 2016, Dr. J. Joel, M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D., L.L.B., took charge as the Principal of this prestigious institution. Dr. R. Peter Perinbaraja M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D., assumed office as the Principal on 10th June 2017. At present Dr.S. Wilson, Head of the Computer Science department has assumed office as Principal i/c. with effect from 05.11.2020.

The College was started as a co-educational Institution, during 1997-98, with three courses, namely BBA/B.Com./B.Sc.(Maths) and five Lecturers. This college is indeed, a great boon to the socially, and economically backward students of the area and the neighbouring villages. No doubt, this institution will grow into a great centre of higher learning in the years to come. Due to the prayers, devotions, zeal and tireless service of the Secretary, the Principal and the Staff Members, the College is well poised to embark on a programme of growth and development.

The student strength of our College for the academic year 2020-2021 is 1453. There are 868 girls and 585 boys. The strength of the Teaching Staff is seventy one, and that of the Non - Teaching Staff is twenty one. The following courses are offered: B.A Tamil, B.A English, B.A. History, B.B.A, B.Com, B.Com Corporate Secretaryship, B. Sc Mathematics, B. Sc Physics, B. Sc Computer Science, B.C.A, M.A. Tamil, M.A. English M. Com and M.Sc. Mathematics and Ph.D. in Commerce.

Besides showing keen interest in academic activities, staff and students are actively involved in many co-curricular activities, namely: N.S.S., Blood Donors Club, Placement Cell, Career Guidance and Counseling centre, First Aid Camp, Red Cross Society, Rotract Club, Red Ribbon Club, Youth Welfare Department, Adult Education Movement, Anti-Dowry Declaration, Alumni Association and Citizen Consumer Club.

Back to Top